Reifel Bird Sanctuary and Thoughts

thumbnail_img_1287

Yesterday, despite the pouring rain, I got myself out to a place that always makes me smile- the Reifel Bird Sanctuary. There is something about walking among hundreds of waddling ducks that makes it impossible to be in a bad mood. This is also coming from someone who was getting over a cold and walking in some of the wettest weather imaginable. Ok that might not of been my best idea I have ever had, but it was most definitely worth it. This sanctuary is unique as well because you can buy duck food for $1.00 and the ducks will forever love you for this. Just by shaking the bag of food you will have all of the birds attention. I love being able to see all of the different ducks and birds. I am not an avid birdwatcher, but I still find it fun to be able to see the differences in shapes, colours, and sounds. There are a few different loop trails in this sanctuary as well as a couple different look outs. Among the trails there are actual bird blinder shelters that you can go into to search out birds while not disturbing them in their habitat. While walking this trail and seeing these places it has really shown me where I am happiest. Unrelated to this sanctuary post I am really starting to see since moving out how little I pursue the things that I am passionate about which is why I am making a serious attempt to start writing again and to really add more to this blog. I want to make an attempt to put myself out there, try new things, and find what it is that truly makes me happy. There are some aspects of my life at this moment that are not fueling my fire and I need to find a way to fix this. Here’s to the next adventure along in my journey.

 

A

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

